CM Punk Injury: What happened?

Phillip Jack Brooks (born October 26, 1978), better known by the ring name CM Punk, is an American professional wrestler, sports commentator, actor, and retired mixed martial artist.


CM Punk Injury: Here is What Happened

CM Punk’s reign as AEW world champion has already met a snag.

Punk, 43, said on Friday night’s edition of Rampage that he’d sustained an injury that will require surgery just five days after becoming champion.

The AEW world championship will not be relinquished by Punk, but an interim champion will be crowned in his place.

The injury was described by Punk as a broken “wheel.” He swore to come back larger, quicker, stronger, and more hungry than ever.


“The good news is, I can still do all that. I told you I was going to go until the wheels fall off. Well, the wheels are still there, they haven’t fallen off. It’s just that one of them happens to be broken. But I’ve come back from worse. I’ve felt better than I feel today, but I am here to tell you that I’ve also felt a hell of a lot worse. This is a bump in the road. It hurts. It hurts like hell. I want to wrestle for you.”

CM Punk Injury

Who is CM Punk?

Brooks began his professional wrestling career in 1999, primarily with Ring of Honor (ROH). In 2005, he signed with World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) and won the WWE Championship twice.

He is now signed to All Elite Wrestling (AEW), where he is in his first reign as AEW World Champion. Brooks is the 19th Triple Crown Champion in WWE history, and the fastest performer to do so in 203 days. Brooks left WWE in 2014 after becoming disillusioned with the company.

He has been known as CM Punk throughout his professional wrestling career, and his character has been portrayed as outspoken, combative, sharp-tongued, anti-establishment, straight-edged, and iconoclastic. In 2016, he fought for the first time in the UFC, losing by submission to Mickey Gall at UFC 203.

He was then released after losing his second fight to Mike Jackson by unanimous decision at UFC 225 in 2018 (later reversed to a no-contest).